Home  County Government  Courts  OCC  Advisory Board

Advisory Board

Appointed by the Van Buren County Board of Commissioners, the Van Buren County Community Corrections Advisory Board (CCAB) is responsible for community corrections planning and policy-making with regards to the community corrections funding received from the Michigan Office of Community Corrections (MOCC). Meeting periodically through the year, CCAB members review and discuss issues pertinent to the criminal justice system in Van Buren County and how community corrections programming can positively impact these issues.

Board Members

Current members of the Van Buren CCAB:

Coordinator/manager – Courtney Michalka
Manager’s Direct Supervisor – Rachel Lindley (Specialty court Administer)
CCAB Chairperson – Honorable Kathleen Brickley (Circuit Court/Chief Judge)
Fiscal Agent – Karen MaKay (County Treasure)
County Sheriff – Sheriff Daniel Abbott
Chief of Police – Chief Jay Allen
District Court Judge – Honorable Michael McKay
Probate Court Judge – Honorable David Distefano
County Commissioner  - Mike Toth
County Prosecutor – Attorney Michael Bedford
Criminal Defense – Attorney Albert Laaksonen II
Business Community – Jacqui Cowles
Communications Media – Paul Garrod
Circuit/District Probation – Laraine VanLopik
General Public – Honorable William Buhl (Ret)

Meeting Dates & Agendas

Meeting Minutes