Home > County Government > Elected Officials > Board of County Commissioners

Board of County Commissioners

L to R: Hanson, Schincariol, Toth, Godfrey, Doroh, Patterson-Gladney, Freestone


The Board of Commissioners is the elected legislative body of the County. There are seven (7) members elected from districts of approximately the same population size. Following the decennial census, an apportionment commission meets and reapportions the County into districts of approximately the same size.

The Board meets twice a month for Board of Commissioners meetings where action is taken on items on the agenda. Their primary job is to adopt policies and ordinances to govern the County and its activities. They also adopt an annual budget.

The Board meets the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of the month. Committee of the Whole at 3:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m. Board of Commissioners Meeting, unless changes are posted.

From I-94 take the Paw Paw Exit (exit 60). Turn north and proceed ½ mile. Take right after Sheriffs Building, proceed to Administration & Land Services Building on left.

May 2, 2017 Millage Proposal Information:

This page last updated on 2/19/2017.

Board of Commissioners

Board of Commissioners
Commissioners Office: Located in Administrator's Office
Mailing Address, 219 E. Paw Paw Street, Suite 303
Paw Paw, MI 49079
(269) 657-8200
(269) 657-2547 FAX



District #1:
Gail Patterson-Gladney
914 Kalamazoo St.
South Haven, MI  49090
Ph: (269)  637-0862 (hm)
Ph: (269) 598-0366 (cell)
(county) gladneyg@vbco.org
District #2:  
Kurt Doroh
300 Cherry Court
Bangor, MI  49013
Ph: (269) 427-0336 (hm)
Ph: (269) 906-0194 (cell)
(county) dorohk@vbco.org
District #3:  
Richard Godfrey, Chairperson 
00491 3850th Street 
Bloomingdale, MI  49026
Ph. 521-7685
Cell: 355-0424
Work Cell:  269.251.8342  
(county) godfreyr@vbco.org

District #4:  
Richard W. Freestone  
31002 60th Street 
Bangor, MI  49013
Ph. 269-427-7674
Cell: 269-621-5205
(county) freestoner@vbco.org

District #5:  
Mike Toth, Vice Chair 
51640 35 ½ St.
Paw Paw, MI  49079
Ph: (269) 657-4255 (hm)
Ph: (269) 720-2401 (cell)
(county) tothm@vbco.org 

District #6: 
Donald Hanson  
75406 56th Street 
Decatur, MI  49045
Ph:  674-8780 (h)
Cell:  269.760-9366
Fax: 674-8780 
(county) hansond@vbco.org

District #7:  
Paul Schincariol
27730 Rolling Pines Ct.
Lawton, MI  49065
Cell:  269.271.9463
(county) schincariolp@vbco.org

Scheduled Regular Meetings Will Be Posted


This site and its contents © 2017 Van Buren County
219 E. Paw Paw St. | Suite 303 | Paw Paw, MI  49079-1429 | 269-657-8200

Powered by Community Center from LIAA